Example: "Hey, check your Snapchat! I just sent you a snap!"
Snapchat is mobile app available for iOS and Android that allows users to send messages to each other. Messages may be sent as plain text, photos, or videos. Photos and videos sent via Snapchat can only be viewed once (or twice with the optional "replay" feature), while text messages disappear after a few minutes.
In order to share your "snaps" with other users, you must first add them to your friend list. You can add friends by their username, from your Address Book, by their Snapcode (a personalized icon), or by searching for nearby Snapchat users. Once you have added friends to your list, you can send and receive snaps from them.
Snapchat also includes a "Story" feature which allows you to add snaps to your personalized story. These snaps can be viewed by your friends for a period of 24 hours. So instead of sending a photo or video to 20 of your friends, you can just add it to your Story and all your friends can view it.
Important: On March 29, 2016, Snapchat launched Chat 2.0, an upgrade to the previous service. Chat 2.0 allows users to quickly share photos and stickers during a chat session and also provides new live video features.
Updated: March 31, 2016